Queen of the Tearling

It was about a year ago that I discovered the world of the BookTuber.  They are typically in their late teens/early 20’s and primarily read YA fiction.  Their enthusiasm for literature is contagious and a dream come true for an author.

Something they often comment on is the covers of the books they are reviewing or posting as part of their TBR (to be read) list.  I knew that an eye catching cover was important, but this was a revelation for me.  To see their disappointment (which ranged from annoyance to outright anger) over a series changing the style of a cover mid-way through was especially interesting.

One of the BookTubers on my list is Cozy Tea Reads.  Last weekend, I realized I hadn’t seen any of her videos in a while, so I decided to bingewatch.  It was at the 5:30 mark of her “July Book Haul + Giveaway” that she said, “This next book that I have is one of the most beautiful books I have laid my hands on in a very long time.”  

Then she held up her copy of “The Queen of the Tearling” by Erika Johansen and I felt myself gasp.  She went on to say, “I can’t stop looking at it.  It’s stunning!”

THE QUEEN OF TEARLING

She’s absolutely right. 

I have an e-reader and a limited book-buying budget, so if I see a book I want I typically go that route.  But then there are books that I want in the “traditional” format because they are simply far too beautiful and I need physical evidence of their existence.  This is one of them.

The photo doesn’t do it justice because it’s not only the cover but the spine and the map inside that make this book so gorgeous.  So definitely go watch Cozy Tea Reads video so you can see for yourself.  Something else that sold me on this book (as if the cover wasn’t enough) is that Emma Watson is involved of the making of the film adaptation.

Queen of the Tearling - Emma W

Is “The Queen of the Tearling” on your TBR list?  Have you ever seen a cover and simply HAD to have the book?

https://www.youtube.com/user/cozyteareads

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Film, What Inspires Me

One response to “Queen of the Tearling

  1. Interesting. These young people (ha) are taking over the world on YouTube. And I’ll admit, I am absolutely a sucker for a good cover.

Leave a Reply

