When Autumn Leaves

I was chatting with a gal and (as often happens) the topic turned to books.  She asked if I had read “When Autumn Leaves” by Amy Foster.  I hadn’t, so she kindly offered to loan it to me.

when-autumn-leaves-201x300

Here’s a bit of the synopsis :

“In the picturesque Pacific coast town of Avening, it’s hard not to believe in magic. This is a town where the shoes in the window always fit, where you can buy a love potion at the corner shop, and where local lore seamlessly mixes with the supernatural.”

The story centres around Autumn, a local shop keeper and member of the Jaen Sisterhood.  She has received word that the time has come for her to move on and time to choose her successor.  But  who among the women of the town will be up to the task?

She soon compiles a list of 13, each of whom has their own special brand of magic.  The stories of each of the 13 intertwine far more than any of them are aware (or willing to admit).  Soon we find ourselves being taken on a journey as we get to know each of the candidates and soon realize that Autumn’s choice is going to be next to impossible.

I don’t want to say much more, for fear of posting spoilers.  If you are looking for an “Autumn-themed” book to read and considering we’re just days away from Samhain/Halloween/All Hallows Eve, this is a good choice.

If memory serves, this book took me three nights to finish.  I loved it so much, I immediately bought a copy for myself and another for a friend.  “When Autumn Leaves” has taken a place on my re-read shelf and I look forward to revisiting Avening very soon.

Do you have any suggestions for an “Autumn-themed” read?  Would love to hear from you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, What Inspires Me

Leave a Reply

