From my bookshelf…

When I searched for images of “sand under a microscope”, I was astounded by what I found.  Tiny shells and bits of beautifully coloured particles come together to make up this often neutral looking welcome mat to the sea.  I have a jar of sand from the shore of Miscou Island, New Brunswick.  But it never occurred to me to use it for any purpose other than to run my fingers through it from time to time or to admire it on my shelf.

“The Book of Crystal Spells – magical uses for stones, crystals, minerals… and even sand” by Ember Grant has opened up a new realm of possibilities for me.   Why hadn’t I thought of it before?

Blog - Ember Grant

Some of the information was familiar, like the section that outlines cleansing, charging, dedicating, centering, and grounding.  Even so, it’s still worth reading because you may learn a method you weren’t already familiar with that speaks to you in a way that others do not.

Any info on crystal elixirs and essenses always catches my attention.  Although I am fairly well-versed on the subject, it’s always good to read someone else’s perspective.  The most important thing to know is which crystals are toxic and which are safe.  Essenses are not consumed, so you can use whatever crystals you wish.  However elixirs made for the purpose of consumption need to be approached with caution.

Ember Grant also covers sand and glass spells, which I have never encountered before and found rather intriguing.  I am drawn to the ocean, often collecting stones and shells to bring home with me.  When I came back from Miscou Island, I was shocked to see that my suitcase weighed 30 pounds more than it did when I arrived!

I have a smokey quartz wand with a “window”.  I am not entirely certain what that means, so I have been drawn to learn more about the various types of quartz points.  Chapter 7 focuses on that and I look forward to re-reading it.

Manifestation Grid

I recently set up my first grid to help me manifest a goal and really enjoyed the process.  Ember has a chapter on this, as well and includes 12 grids for various purposes to get you started.

I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who is interested in crystals or incorporating other aspects of nature into their work.  I am always interested in chatting about crystals and would love to read any experiences you’re willing to share.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

