No singing crabs here…

I am a big fan of Ariel Bissett.  For those who don’t know her, she’s a BookTuber from Ontario whose enthusiasm for books is contagious.  Just when I think I couldn’t possibly love her any more, I find out she has a thing for mermaids!  One of her videos, entitled “Mermaid May”, caught my eye.  Watch it here :  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmj5-ukBHpw

I went on a little expedition to see what I could find in my local bookshop.  I have an eReader, but there’s something about perusing the shelves and having the physical book in your hands.  Having said that, I didn’t have as much luck as I’d hoped.  The book that I was really interested in was “Fathomless” by Jackson Pearce.  Unfortunately, it seems that my timing isn’t the best because it wasn’t available.

I wandered over to the bargain section and found “Lies Beneath” by Anne Greenwood Brown.  I opened it and was hooked by the first sentence on the dust jacket.

“Calder White lives in the cold, clear waters of Lake Superior, the only brother in a family of murderous mermaids.”

It’s a dark twist on the mermaid mythos and was priced at 4.99 so I decided to give it a chance.

For the Blog - What Lies Beneath

 In my efforts to be artistic, it seems I have all but obliterated the cover.

I am always interested in different takes on the origins, social structure, and behaviour of familiar characters.  In this story, there’s an interesting twist.

“The ancient legends had it all backwards about merpeople.  We didn’t lure humans’ ships onto the rocks.  Human beings were the happy, shiny lures that caught our attention.”

The merpeople can see our auras and our happiness is something they crave.  Carrying a human down, down, down, they absorb that energy while their victim drowns.  Much like a vampire needs human blood to sustain themselves, merpeople need our happiness.

This particular family has revenge on their minds.  They blame Jason Hancock for their mother’s death and although he is long gone, his descendants will pay the price for what they see as the ultimate betrayal.  But as with all things, this plan isn’t as simple as they assume.  Lily is Jason’s granddaughter and while she is the intended bait, she proves to be a lure that Calder finds difficult to resist.

I found this book an easy, yet enjoyable read.  I have to admit I was a bit disappointed when I discovered this was the first book in a series.  I know that sounds odd, but I prefer stand-alone titles because I have zero patience and can’t deal with having to wait for the next book to come out.  Thankfully, it seems that this is the first in a trilogy, with “Deep Betrayal” and “Promise Bound” available now.  There’s a definite benefit to discovering trilogies later on.

I am intrigued and will most likely continue with the series.  If you’re looking for an easy read to take with you on holiday or just a little something to help you decompress from reality, this is a good choice.

Are there any mermaid books you recommend?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

