Shelfie Saturday – the super deluxe office edition !

I am not sure how it happened but my office slowly became a sort of dumping ground for everything I didn’t have the time or energy to deal with.  Boxes of this… bags of that… piles of papers and unopened mail.  It made me sad to go in there because for so long I wanted a library/research area and I finally had that, but over time I had disrespected the space.  So I decided that it was time to roll up my sleeves and get to work.

One by one, I went through the boxes and bags.  I started a “keep” pile on the desk, which turned into several keep piles.  I grabbed the garbage bag holder thingy, put a bag on it and started tossing everything that was no longer relevant.  Like bills from 2012.  How embarrassing is that?

I have a tendency to store things in reusable grocery store bags.  I take everything I need to go through and stuff it in there, vowing to deal with it later.  Until later becomes far later than I intended and I find myself wondering why I have this bag of paper sitting in my office.  The positive in this situation is that it’s all fairly easy to let go of once you finally get to it.

Through this process, I decided that I needed to get another bookcase.  I gave it a lot of thought and came to the conclusion that I had to find a lightweight folding one because there was no way I was hauling another behemoth into the house by myself.  Before I heading out shopping, I did what I always do.   The “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” technique.

“Wouldn’t it be nice if I could find a folding bookshelf for under 30 dollars?”

I went to three different stores before I hit the jackpot.  I found exactly what I was looking for, albiet a bit smaller than I’d hoped.  But they were only 19-99 each, so I decided to get two!

Shelfie Saturday - New Shelves

Don’t you love manifesting exactly what you want at the price you’re willing to pay?

Now that the bigger bookcase was almost empty, I could move more books into my office.  HAZZAH!  I decided to put all of my research material on the left and my “to be read” pile on the right.

Shelfie Saturday - Shelves 2

No space is complete without a salt lamp.

I also re-organized my music, which is in alphabetical order according to artist.

Shelfie Saturday - Music

I became a bit concerned when I couldn’t find any of my Deva Premal CD’s.  Then I noticed a few others missing and the search was on.  I typically take a handful of CD’s out to my car, then bring them in and trade them for something new when I need a change.  So I figured I must have a pile of them somewhere.  I searched all the likely spots, but found nothing.  Finally, I remembered that I moved all of my “Spiritual” CD’s into my Healing Room.  Mystery Solved!

I am so happy I finally took the time to reclaim this space.  I had a lot of fun setting it up and reorganizing everything.  Now that I can see the top of my desk again, it’s inspired me to get back to work.  I currently have three more book reviews to write and some character development to get to.  I am still doing the actual writing in the kitchen but it’s good to know this space is there waiting for me when I need it.  Even if I just want to enjoy a cup of tea and a daydream.

Shelfie Saturday - Desk

Do you have anything you’ve been putting off?  What’s stopping you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

