Tradesies!

Almost a month ago, I wrote about my major purge in “Distractions, procrastination, and releasing my past.”  Through that process I let go of a LOT of things that I no longer needed, wanted, used, and never really wanted at all but was guilted into taking.  I also found some things I’d completely forgotten about, like this book :

Tradesies 1

“The Golden Age of Children’s Book Illustration” was a chance find in the bargain section at Chapters about 14 years ago.  I picked up two copies, one for myself and one for my yet-to-be born nephew.  I tucked it away and promptly forgot about it.

I was wondering what to do with it, since I didn’t think it would appeal to him.  Fast forward a few weeks.  My Mom and I had a discussion about artists whose work was featured in old books.

I, of course, started going on about Arthur Rackham.  He was a huge influence on both Alan Lee and Brian Froud, who collaborated on the book “Faeries” back in the 70’s.

I am also a huge fan of Beatrix Potter, whose work is also featured in this book.  Her work has a certain charm that seems to call out to people, no matter how old they are.

Tradesies 2 Ah!  Book plates!  I love them!  They’re so much more than just “illustrations” but rather a work of art.  A snapshot of a moment in the story, beautifully framed and able to stand on it’s own.  This book is a treasure and I am so happy that I had the presence of mind to get it.  But I certainly don’t need two of them.  So I offered one to my Mom, who gave me this in return.

Tradesies 3  I have flipped through it a few times at her house but hesitated to borrow it because I didn’t know when I would be able to get it back to her.  The similarities between Druidry and the Avalonian Tradition have always been of interest to me, so I look forward to taking the time to sit down and read through it.

Have you ever traded books with family or friends?  Do you find it difficult to part with a book if you can’t find it a good home?  Have you ever been given a book out of the blue?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, What Inspires Me, Writing

Leave a Reply

