Dear Amazon, look what ya made me do…

I have been impatiently waiting for Ellen Dugan’s new book for MONTHS.  As I always do, I figured that if Amazon was going to go to the trouble of shipping me a book, I should probably make it worth their while.  So I ordered two more.

Unfortunately, they haven’t shipped yet.  Yes, I do have about 17 books on my “to be read” pile.  Thank you for the reminder.  But after catching up on a few Booktuber’s videos, I decided that I needed a new book to pass the time. Besides, it’s been so long since I felt like reading anything I wasn’t going to let this slide.  So off to the bookstore I went.

My first pick and a book that I have been wanting to get since I heard about it months ago is “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs.  For those who have never heard of it, here is a little taste.  Book Haul June 14 1

“A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.”

It has been getting rave reviews from Booktubers and looks really interesting.  So that was the book I knew I was getting.

Ariel Bisset posted a video called “Mermaid May”  that I found quite interesting.  One of the books she recommended is “Fathomless” by Jackson Pearce.  This is the third book in the “Fairytale Retellings” series, however as I understand it each book is a stand-alone.  So you can read them in whatever order you wish.  I am intrigued by the books, but sadly they were not available at the store.  (insert sad face here)  So I may have to break down and just order all 4 of them online.

Ariel also did a video called “Summertime Madness” where she talked about a book that sounded intriguing but I couldn’t for the life of me remember the name of.  I searched through her videos and just found it, so I will be on the hunt for “Inland” by Kat Rosenfield.

“The psychological labyrinth of a young woman’s insidious connection to the sea…”

Can’t wait!!!

I wandered over to the bargain section and found “Lies Beneath” by Anne Greenwood Brown.  I picked it up and read the synopsis, then put it down and continued on.  But I was really craving a mermaid story so I went back to it and read the first chapter.  I liked what I read so far, so I decided to give it a chance.

Book Haul June 14 3

At the time of this writing, I’m on Chapter 13 and intend to read a bit more before I go to bed.  I predict that by the time I publish this, I will have finished it.  I enjoy YA Fiction and was looking for a way to sort of ease myself back into reading with something fairly light.  So this is perfect.

I have a fascination with Joan of Arc, so when I saw “The Maid and The Queen” by Nancy Goldstone, I was drawn to it immediately.  It seems a bit dry, so I will have to wait until the mood strikes but I skimmed through it and found it rather interesting.  I think it’s going to surprise me and am looking forward to that.

Book Haul June 14 2

The best part about today’s trip to the bookstore is I spent less than 30 dollars!  So I don’t feel the least bit guilty (not that I would have).

I will post a “Book Haul” once the three titles from Amazon arrive.  Hopefully they won’t take too long.  I am also hoping I can resist ordering the Jackson Pearce books for at least a few weeks.  Unfortunately, once I get a bee in my bonnet I tend to obsess.  Hard to believe, I know.  But it’s true.  I blame Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

