Coming out of the Fibro Closet

It’s been quiet here on the Bliggity Blog.  I’m sorry for that.  You may notice that I have a tendency to disappear from time to time.  I don’t like to talk about it for a myriad of reasons but now seems like as good a time as any.

I am affected by Fibromyalgia.  I don’t like to say I “have” it, for to state that you possess something is sending a message to the Universe that you want to keep it.  It has already been in my life for far too long.Fibro Fact

I don’t like to talk about it because I know the stigma associated with it.  I am ashamed to admit that I was among those who believe that Fibro is a load of BS.  Imagine my surprise when I was diagnosed and realized that the reason I never felt “well” and was tired all the time was because of Fibro, along with its buddies Chronic Fatigue, Costochondritis, and Restless Leg Syndrome.  What’s that?  No cure?  Oh joy!

Let me be absolutely clear.  I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  I am a 45 yr old woman who is affected with Fibro and made the decision to heal myself because I wasn’t satisfied with the options available to me through traditional medicine.  What works for me may not work for someone else.  But is does work for me and that’s what matters.

This has been an awakening.  A hard lesson in compassion and self-reliance.  I soon learned that traditional medicine simply tosses pharmaceuticals at you and tells you that you just have to become accustomed to your symptoms.  Make adjustments.  That you can most likely look forward to being on disability and that there isn’t anything else they can do for you.  I am grateful that I am stubborn because I wasn’t about to buy into that belief.

I am also grateful to have found Dr. Steve Marsden – a Naturopathic physician.  He was the first person in the medical field to truly listen and the first to validate my symptoms.  More importantly, he told me not to focus on the “label” but on how we were going to work together to enable me to heal.  While it is a chronic condition with no cure, he felt very confident that I could manage my symptoms, which would enable me to have as normal a life as possible.

Gentle Hugs

He started me on a specialized blend of herbs and advised me to meditate in order to raise my Ch’i (life force).  I learned that my emotional state had an impact on my symptoms, so I became very aware of my surroundings, as well as the people I interacted with, music I listened to, films I watched.  Anything that lowers my vibration will cause me to feel unwell.  I gave up caffeine and instantly noticed a huge difference in how I felt.  I paid attention to what I ate and how it affected me, making adjustments as I went along.  I am not perfect.  Not by a long shot.  But I am no longer in the dark, wondering why I feel like crap and not knowing what to do about it.

Through my research, I discovered that most people affected by Fibro also have a magnesium deficiency.  So I take Magnesium Citrate twice a day.  I also learned that there are benefits to Infrared Sauna, so I have incorporated that into my routine.  Yoga, meditation, naps when you need them, working with crystals, and allowing yourself to have days where you just don’t feel well are also part of the formula.

So the reason you haven’t heard much from me in the last couple of weeks is because I had a flareup and it’s taking a bit longer than I anticipated to get back on track.  To be honest, it started with all the excitement of “The Last Unicorn” screening.  You see, even positive stress has an impact so I have to be aware of that and keep myself from getting overly excited/emotional.  I learned a mantra from Dr. Wayne Dyer that also helped.  “I am healthy.  I am well.  I am pain free.  I am fibro free.  I am costo free.  I am healing.”  Whenever the pain sets in, this is an easy way to change focus and it usually subsides within a few minutes.  It never completely goes away but it becomes manageable.

I am sharing this with you not for sympathy, but in order to promote understanding and awareness.  Just because someone doesn’t “look” sick, doesn’t mean their illness isn’t real. Just because you don’t understand what they are going through does not give you the right to negate what they are experiencing.  I am guilty of this myself so I can understand the mindset.  We often fear what we don’t understand and Fibro is a very misunderstood condition.

Even just having one person in your corner who “gets” it (or at least tries to) makes a world of difference.  It is my goal to be doing even better this time next year and to be able to share all the things I have been able to do and experience, thanks to my healing.

Fibro Awareness

 

5 Comments

Filed under What Inspires Me

5 responses to “Coming out of the Fibro Closet

  1. Heather

    Thanks for sharing your journey and the hope it brings for others to make changes. I most likely have endometriosis and am determined to overcome it naturally and with changes in my life. It takes courage to go down a different road than what others want for you….

  2. Alana

    Dear Nimue,
    I get it! I could never express it as perfectly has you have. I have lived with pain, off and on, throughout my adult life. I am not diagnosed with fibro, but with chronic pain associated with severe arthritis. The term “arthritis” has its own stigma, one I practiced as a very young person. I know it’s a relief to realize when someone “gets” it! You’ll receive no “stigmatism” from me, only energetic, healing support, and immense gratitude for sharing your truth.
    Blessings,
    Alana

    • As always, thank you for your kindness. It is something I don’t often discuss, as I am a very private person but felt everything came together today and it needed to be said. If I can offer hope to only one person, then it’s been worth it.

  3. Thank you for sharing – I think you are doing amazing work on your healing journey and am glad I know you!

Leave a Reply

