It’s my Bloggy and I’ll write what I want to !

I’m a writer.  It’s not just what I do.  It’s who I am.  Perhaps it’s wrong to identify so strongly with just one aspect of myself.  But it is an identity I am comfortable with and makes me happy.   Stephen King quote

I have done a tremendous amount of research to determine how to best “brand” myself and to represent my brand to my audience.  I’ve been told that to stray too far away from that brand runs the risk of alienating people.  I’ve been told to “stay on point” and “only write about things that are reflective of your brand”.  How to gain more Twitter followers, how to get your blog posts noticed, how to entice people to “like” your facebook page and thus like you by default.

I learned a lot through this process.  The most important thing being that by stressing over all these details I lost my voice.  I was not only writing/posting less but I was also enjoying it less.  I agonized over having so few followers and thus tried to write what I thought everyone wanted rather than what inspired me at any given moment.  I lost my authenticity and my way.

Writing

I write.  It’s how I express my thoughts and how I work through my feelings.  I don’t share everything that comes forward.  Not by a long shot.  Either it’s total crap (yes, I am willing to admit that not everything I write is amazing) or it’s not something I want to share with anyone other than myself.  As I said, I use writing to help me work through things and not all of that is for public consumption.

I am very fortunate to earn a living as a writer.  So I write all day, every day.  I also write my own stuff and am always working on at least three projects at any given time.  That’s definitely not how some feel it “should” be done but it’s how I do things and I am very comfortable with my process.

So after a considerable amount of thought and reflection, I’ve decided to just let myself do what I do best.  Write.  Without any sort of agenda or rules.  At my own pace.  About whatever catches my fancy at any given time.

Interestingly, as soon as I let go I gained followers on Twitter and Facebook, started getting more feedback on my blog, and remembered how much I love writing.  So this is how I am going to do things from now on.  Sylvia Plath

Have you ever found life became easier once you let go?  Are there any preconceived notions you think you might be better off without?

 

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “It’s my Bloggy and I’ll write what I want to !

  1. I think you’ve made a wise decision. I can’t wait to read your future posts!
    I’ve learned that letting go opens up a new world.

  2. It’s so easy to get bogged down in all of the “advice” out there. But the second anyone tells you to squash your own voice, intuition, or the direction you want to take your ambitions… it’s time to stop listening.

    • I think it’s easy to get caught up in the business end of things. When you’re a creative spirit, that aspect can be rather daunting at the best of times. But add to that a feeling that you have to shackle your creativity, reign it in, and force it to reside in a tidy little box makes it impossible to carry on.

      Whatever works for you, works for you. No one but you can determine that.

  3. Chris

    Awesome! Looking forward to reading your blogs from your heart-in your words!

Leave a Reply

