My Harry Potter Experience

What could be called the most successful series in literature consists of 7 books, 8 films, 8 video games, a list of 400 other officially endorsed products, and a theme park.  Believe it or not, I was never swept up in it.  Being a bookseller, I had obviously heard about it, but hadn’t immersed myself in it.

“Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” was released June 30, 1997.  I don’t remember when I first heard about it, but at the time I was working on my own novel.  I had decided that I would wait until it was published before reading any of the Harry Potter books, so I missed out on all the excitement.

I have to admit, I wasn’t certain that the book would live up to all the hype.  I have seen a couple of the films but because I intended to read the series, I didn’t want to see them all.  I wanted to be at least a bit surprised.  I loved the story and was looking forward to finally digging in.

Now that I have finished reading the first book, I get it.  I see exactly what all the fuss was about.  I almost wish I had been among those who didn’t have a clue what to expect.  But then, I am glad that I don’t have to wait for what must have seemed like forever until the next book to come out.  I just went down the road to the library and there it was!  (another bonus to being tardy to the party is that the books are readily available and I don’t have to get on a waiting list to borrow them)

Harry Potter Book 1 for Blog

Nothing goes better with a good book than a cup of tea.

It’s charming and magical and fun.  On a personal note, after the last few weeks (which were truly craptastic) I needed charming and magical and fun.  As I turned the last page, I thought to myself (spoiler alert)

“Surely they aren’t going to send him back to live with those people for the summer!”

I promptly picked up the phone, called the library, and had them put ‘Chamber of Secrets’ on hold.  A friend suggested I pick up ‘Prisoner of Azkaban’  if possible because I would certainly plow through book 2 and this way I could start book 3 immediately.  So I did just that.

I am going to be doing my own little writer’s retreat in the near future and have arranged for two 4-day weekends in a row!  So for those who are thinking ‘Shouldn’t she be writing?’, my answer is yes.  I definitely should be.   I plan to do nothing but write for 8 days solid, in two blocks of 4 days each.  But for now, I will curl up on the couch with the Hooligans and enjoy another trip into the world of Harry Potter.

9 Comments

Filed under What Inspires Me

9 responses to “My Harry Potter Experience

  1. As someone with a literary blog, I think Harry Potter is one of the greatest attributes of modern literature of our time. I love the perspective of this piece, as well as the way you’ve expressed your love for HP!

  2. A writer’s got to read too, right? 🙂

  3. great read! even better mug! stay warm

    • Thank you! I enjoyed it immensely. Book 2? Not as much, but I understand I am not alone in this. I am currently about halfway through book 3. Will definitely post a review once I’m finished.

      Winter has been really rough this year. I’m trying to see it as experience for a future project. 😉

  4. Hmmm, very interesting. I’ve been wondering what all the fuss is about too. I think I am going to order the books. I love that I ran into your review, just as I was thinking of this. So you think it’s better to read the books first…

Leave a Reply

