When sleeping women wake…

After reading “No Opportunity Wasted”, I decided to put some of what I learned into practice.

I am a very visual person.  I make the most of posterboard, markers, photos, and artwork in order to keep me focused and inspired.  So needless to say, a list written on a piece of paper wasn’t going to cut it.

I also like to take ideas and make them my own, rather than “follow the leader”.  There are exceptions, of course but I find that you have to personalize everything at least to some degree.  If your heart isn’t in it, then it won’t have any meaning no matter how amazing the ideas behind the exercise.  In fact, you are more likely to cast it aside or not follow through.

The book focuses on ‘8 ways to create a list for the life you want’.  After giving it a lot of thought, I decided to focus on the 5 areas that I felt needed attention and improvement in order to see more balance in my life.  Those areas are :

Physical

Intellectual

Emotional

Creative

Spiritual

At first, I was going to do a giant list on poster-board and decorate that with photos, artwork, quotes, and drawings.  I soon realized this wasn’t going to work for a number of reasons.  The most obvious is that one piece of poster-board would not be adequate enough to support my vision for 2014.

Then I remembered my Smash Journal.  I was given this as a gift by a friend two years ago and was saving it for something special.  I do that a lot.  Get a beautiful journal but can’t bear to use it for anything that may not do it justice.  I often wonder if other writers torture themselves this way.

So I gathered some supplies, printed some pics, collected my thoughts, and got to work.

Scrapbook

Much to my delight, it’s filling up nicely and I am enjoying the process.  I still have plenty of room to jot down ideas and quotes, add ticket stubs and photos, make a top 10 book list for the year (I intend to read at least 60 books before 12.31.14), along with any milestones and achievements I want to make note of.

There is an ancient Chinese proverb which states,

“When Sleeping Women Wake, Mountains Move”

I intend to move a lot of mountains this year.  How about you?  Any big plans, goals, dreams that you are focusing on in 2014?

Leave a comment

Filed under What Inspires Me

Leave a Reply

