Until we meet again, sweet girl

I struggled with whether or not to post this.  Then I remembered that I shared a bit about the Hooligans and thus I would be remiss if I were to omit it.  That and the fact she was such a huge part of my life.  How could I not?

It is with tremendous sorrow that I write of the passing of Izzy yesterday morning. Before she came to live with me, she had a mast cell tumor removed and I adopted her knowing that the cancer may return. Unfortunately, it came back with a vengeance and there was absolutely nothing that could be done. So as my heart broke into a thousand pieces and scattered to the wind, I did the kindest thing I could for her and helped her cross over the bridge to the Summerland.

Hooligans 001

This is my favorite photo of Izzy.  It took a long time before she would allow me to get physically close to her.

I wish I could find the words to tell you how much she meant to me. How much I loved her. Maybe those words will come in time, but somehow I don’t think anything I write will do justice to her and what a special little soul she was.  I often told her she was my “favorite little weirdo”.  She had a horrible start to life, suffering extreme emotional abuse to the point where she was terrified of people.  Izzy was never what most people would consider “normal”, but I knew exactly what I was getting into and the only regret I have is that we didn’t find each other sooner.

Hooligans 027

Helping the Momma Lady with the dishes.       

       

Dogs Sept 22 2012 004

I am feeling a little lost right now and keep looking over at her “marshmallow bed”, expecting to see her. I am not entirely certain where to go from here, but I suppose I will start by expressing my gratitude.

Thank you to everyone National Mill Dog Rescue in Colorado for saving Izzy and for taking such good care of her for the two years she was with you.  Thanks and love to Rich and Theresa Strader, for entrusting her to me. I know you loved her too.

Hooligans 015

If anyone reading this is thinking about adding a dog to their family, please consider adoption and visit National Mill Dog Rescue either on Facebook or their website or both.  This amazing organization is very close to my heart.  They are doing amazing work to spread the word about the plight of the milldogs and have saved over 8 thousand of them and counting.  Their website can be found here http://www.milldogrescue.org

RIP, my sweet sweet girl. Your Brand New Momma loves you and is going to miss you every day.

Dogs Sept 22 2012 005

See what I mean?  Little weirdo.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Until we meet again, sweet girl

  1. So sorry for your loss. So happy for your love.

  2. Having lost many in the 20 years of loving the breed, each one that passes leaves a big hole in my heart. One day my heart will have no strength to beat and I will be reunited with them

  3. Dawn Godbout

    So very happy you shared all the great moment’s with Izzy and your other hooligans.We share your sorrow.What a beautiful heart’s mill survivor’s have.Thank’s for being Izzy New Mama untill the end of this path of life.Untill you meet again remember all the special moment’s shared.

  4. Thank you all for your kind responses. It’s been a very difficult few weeks.

Leave a Reply

