The Faeries Oracle

Years ago, I took an Oracle class at a local metaphysical shop.  Before the class began, about two dozen of Doreen Virtue’s decks were laid out for us to choose from.  The first part of the class was learning how to recognize and trust our intuition.  Then we were allowed to use these techniques to choose the deck we were meant to work with.  It wasn’t a surprise to me that I ended up with the “Healing with the Faeries” deck.

Healing with Faeries Deck

* Image from InGoldArt.com – no copyright infringement intended, will remove if requested.

For a while, I collected various decks and did readings for people.  My favorite is “The Faeries Oracle” by Brian Froud and Jessica MacBeth.  Because I am such a huge fan of Brian’s work, I instantly fell in love with this deck and looked forward to working with it.  Unfortunately, my enthusiasm wasn’t shared by my clients.  Most found the deck dark and disturbing.  They physically pulled away from it and asked me to use another deck.  This reaction was always a shock to me.

The most misunderstood card in all divination decks (whether they are Oracle or Tarot) is the “Death” card.  This is why, prior to any reading, I explain that the Death card does not indicate a physical death.  Rather, it is symbolic of the end of something and the beginning of another.  It could symbolize changing jobs, relocating to a new city, the end of a relationship, all of which mean letting go of the old so that you can embrace the new.  It’s actually a great card to come up in a reading and a shame that it isn’t seen as such. 

Part of the problem stems from Hollywood’s use (or perhaps I should say “misuse”) of divination tools such as Tarot cards, where the appearance of the Death card is always followed by the untimely physical death of one of the characters in the story.  

The first time I went through the cards, Brian Froud’s depiction of the Death card was the one I was most attracted to.  Unlike other decks I’ve seen, this card is elegant and rather beautiful.  She stands, shrouded in mystery and presenting a dark crystal ball as through to tell you that even she cannot see the future.  That unresolved aspects of your present must be confronted in order to move forward.  The future will unfold itself when the time is right and when everything is in alignment.  What that involves, of course, will depend on the other cards present in the reading.  

Death Card from the Faerie Oracle

* Copyright, Brian Froud – no copyright infringement intended, will remove if requested

It is said the card that calls to you is the one that holds the most significance in your life at that time.  Interestingly enough, I went through a considerable amount of change shortly after getting the deck.

I enjoyed doing readings but I stepped away from it after an especially trying time because I felt that my intuition had become clouded.  I haven’t decided whether or not to return to it, as writing is my primary focus.  For now, I will take some time to reacquaint myself with “The Faeries Oracle” and see what the future holds.

3 Comments

Filed under The Faeries

3 responses to “The Faeries Oracle

  1. I love this deck, and I appreciate your views here on it. I do hope you get back to it, because people I think tend to shy away from necessary change, because it usually is not without some discomfort. I find that this deck tends to speak of movement and direct insight without beating around the bush so to speak. It is intuitive and direct. It minces no words but allows you to interpret for yourself also. I adore this deck and find it highly accurate, even when I don’t like what it says at times 😉 Truth is funny like that. I think it is a brilliant oracle deck and wish more people saw past their own opinions to give it a chance. Sometimes messages come raw and unadorned. That is difficult for some people, even when the ultimate message can be inherently positive for their lives. (like the death card). Many thanks for this review!

    • I am sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. Thank you for your feedback. I have actually started doing readings again and am contemplating expanding that. Just have to come up with a gameplan.

      I was using Doreen Virtue’s Fairy Deck but found that I eventually grew out of it. I am certain that happens from time to time.

  2. Thank you for your feedback. I found the deck to be very direct and on-point. Truth can be a very frightening thing to some and oftentimes uncomfortable, which may be what they were really afraid of.

Leave a Reply

