Urisk

After taking a much-needed break, it was time for me to get back to work.  Both on the Author Quest and my blog.  I couldn’t think of a better way to start things off than to write about one of the Faeries.  Now, which to choose?  It may come as a surprise, but the first one that came to mind was Urisk ( pronounced OO-risk ).

Urisk by Alan Lee
Urisk by Alan Lee – from the book “Faeries”

A writer’s life tends to be a rather solitary one.  In my case, it’s not because I don’t want to socialize, it’s just that I often find myself struggling with time spent away from my work.  Maybe that’s why I was drawn to Urisk.  He’s a solitary Faerie and who longs for friends, but due to his appearance is often pelted with stones and chased off by those he encounters.

I have always felt compassion for outsiders, sometimes to my detriment.  But the more I learned about Urisk, the more drawn I was to him.  So I made the decision to include him in my book, “Believe”.

“At the mention of his name, all turned to face Urisk, who was seated alone in a small corner of the clearing.  He was so quiet and unassuming that Phelan would never have noticed him, had he not been acknowledged.  Urisk was cursed with the long face of a Billy goat, complete with a beard.  His upper body was indeed human, although very scrawny.  His lower half?  Covered in ragged brown fur, his Billy goat legs ended in hooves.  The little Faerie fluttered over, taking his bearded chin in her hand and tilting his face upward, offering him a gentle kiss on the end of his thin nose.  He blinked and smiled, ever so slightly.  Phelan was suddenly struck by how solemn his eyes were, how deep his sadness was.  How could anyone turn away from those eyes without at least offering some sort of kindness?  He is known to many as one of the most physically unattractive Faeries.  This is a rather sorrowful fact when you understand, as Phelan did now, how much he truly wants to be loved.”

Urisk is a Scottish Faerie who spends his days sitting quietly by small pools.  His hope is that he will meet a passerby, but everyone who encounters him is horrified and frightened by his appearance.  This constant rejection deepens his depression and his longing for companionship.  A compassionate soul would do well to befriend him, for you’ll never find anyone more loyal.  Until that day comes, he will continue to sit and wait.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Faeries

Leave a Reply

